Your Opinion Matters

THE PLATFORM LIVE:

Download the app now from your app store.

Get more
opinions

Sign up for our newsletter to stay up to date.

Tremain

Tremain on The Platform

The latest from out cartoonist not in residence Garrick Tremain

August 18, 2022
Tremain

Tremain on The Platform

The latest from out cartoonist not in residence Garrick Tremain

August 18, 2022
nz politics

Fire and Fury is often funny — unintentionally

Stuff’s doco about vaccine protests veers into the absurd.

August 18, 2022
nz politics

Fire and Fury doco on Dumb Lives Matter protest is Wellington middle class taxpayer funded virtue signaling at its finest

Imagine if Labour and the Greens had done something meaningful over the last 5 years for the lumpenproletariat so that there wasn’t this rage to exploit by the far right in the first place?

August 15, 2022
nz politics

Will Māori have the whip hand for key Three Waters jobs?

The cancellation of Dame Anne Salmond is instructive about who may be eligible for influential positions.

August 12, 2022
nz politics

Is Tauranga headed towards yet another by-election?

Bryce Edwards: This scandal undermines National’s attempt to establish itself as the party of law and order.

August 11, 2022
nz politics

It's not just Sam Uffindell who's on trial here

Karl du Fresne: Some more thoughts on the Sam Uffindell saga

August 11, 2022
nz politics

GROAN – In defence of Sam bloody Uffindell

Martyn Bradbury: Uffindell has gone on to make a contribution to his community, to his society and to his Whānau, attempting to hold this act up for political purposes is cheap and lazy.

August 09, 2022
opinion

On the joys of long-haul travel

Karl du Fresne: On our recent trip to and from the US, my wife and I were relatively lucky. Despite reports of chaos at airports, all our flights left on time.

August 08, 2022
nz politics

Ardern’s train-wreck Q&A interview

After her Q&A appearance, many viewers would have been left wondering whether the Prime Minister can’t follow an argument or whether she is simply willing to say anything to wriggle out of a tight spot

August 03, 2022